2011 Annual Dinner and Awards Banquet

The 2011 edition of the Annual Dinner and Awards Banquet was held March 12 at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center in Cedar Rapids.

A fine meal featuring pork tenderloin was served in buffet style by the culinary arts students enrolled in the Culinary Arts program at Kirkwood Community College. Kolin Brighton of Cedar Rapids was the event planner.

The guest speaker for the night was Frank Patek, Executive Director of the BMW CCA. Frank relayed information from the National Board about the overall health of the club, website updates, existing and new programs of the BMW CCA.

Dana Schrader once again provided a wonderful slide show of our Club activities from past events and out-going Board of Directors President, Fred Bell, acted as Master of Ceremonies.

As usual, a great selection of door prizes was available from our vendors and no one should have gone home without a great door prize.

Awards given for the 2011 year were as follows:

  • “Member of the Year” -Dana Schrader of Grimes
  • “Cutting it a Little Fine” award-Larry and Karen Handy of Fort Dodge
  • “Sponsor of the Year”-BMW of Des Moines

Plaques were presented to outgoing Board members Nehru Cheddie, Becky Brighton and Kolin Brighton.

Additionally, the 2011 Board of Directors was introduced:

President-David Brighton
Vice-President-Jeff Daly
Secretary-David Trachtenberg
Treasurer-Ryan Smith
Newswerks-Nicole Jobst
Social Events-Alison Bell
Communications-Chris Kjellmark
Website-Manoj Tomar/Dana Schrader
Driving Events-Jeff Daly/Mike Myers
Membership-Cindy Dolmage

The host hotel was a tremendous facility and many attendees complimented the dinner.

Club Sponsors